“Not all who wander are lost” ~Tolkien

It’s the beginning of the week! It’s been an interesting previous week both in my personal life, as well as the artistic journey I’ve been on. I’ve decided (after a week of trying it) to track my journey through “The Artist’s Way.”

Week one was successful. I took a looooooooong walk as my artist’s date and had a wonderful time. I found different pathways to the ocean, which made my creative spirit dance with glee. I found a house not to far from my home, built with architectural mastery and beautifully landscape. Upon seeing the house, I thought an artist must live here. It was that little artistic nudge on the inside, that feeling of being in the presence of art. As I walked closer to the mailbox, I noticed a giant rock marking the driveway in an artistic landscaping design. On the rock was painted a beautiful mural of a lighthouse and a calming sea. From now on, my camera is coming along with me!

Each morning I began my day with writing. As part of the program, Morning Pages are part of the deal. 3 pages, front and back every morning, right after I wake up. I have to admit, sometimes I have to convince myself it is for my betterment, but usually feel lighter when completed. I also noticed the clarity that comes from doing them. No longer sitting at my lap top in the middle afternoon attempting to write but getting held up on the issues of the days past or the issues at hand, I now, after a bout of yoga, a healthy breakfast, and a morning meeting with the trees in my back yard, am able to create.

One particular writing session produced an essay that was more than just a rambling of past transgressions. I had written it as an exercise assignment from the book. Who knew how creative that assignment could be! I’m considering editing it and sending it off for publication. I’ll let you know how that endeavor goes.

I also had the creative editing spirit and looked at one of my old poems. “Mother’s Advice” was written about a year ago in a Creative Writing class at school. The assignment was to write a poem using a metaphor. I was pretty proud of it when it came time to sharing and it was received well. It was also the poem that warranted a surprise meeting after class with my professor. It was the first time that any one said I needed to get published in a literary magazine. My poetry had caliber. It was a nice feeling.

Anyway, I digress. I originally started this post to tell you about the status of my book! I’ve finished the prologue and am trying my hardest to not to go back and rewrite but rather rewrite. Tomorrow I hope to at least finish a quarter of the first chapter. I also have been having little brain blasts of scenes that I want to try to develop more, the scribbled on napkins and random post its are starting to clutter up my desk! I’ll give you a little insider tip, the invocation of the heavenly muses has been called after the description of the Great Orchestra! 🙂

As Always guys, Thanks for stopping by. See you next post.

Peace,
Kris

About KrisEKing

Another aspiring writer, prone to random muse attacks and philosophical wanderings. Learning, rather quickly, there is more than just madness in this wonderful life known as wonderland. View all posts by KrisEKing

Leave a Reply

